Liveleak Forums

Liveleak Forums (http://forums.liveleak.com/index.php)
-   Computer Software (http://forums.liveleak.com/forumdisplay.php?f=250)
-   -   Firefox has been upgraded (http://forums.liveleak.com/showthread.php?t=119609)

BurntBulb 04-15-2017 04:46 AM

Firefox has been upgraded
 
I mainly use firefox. with it recent upgrade, I had to install all new add-ons.
Not a problem, just took some time for me to find what I wanted.

One add-on I noticed was one that would change HTTP to HTTPS.
Here's the address for it:

https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/fir...cb-dl-featured

Is this really possible?
With the problems we've had on the forums, would this work for us?
Would it work for any site?

I hope our resident experts will chime in on this.

unschlagbar 04-15-2017 07:27 AM

What the plugin does is if you visit a HTTP Url, it checks if there is a HTTPS respective Url available and if, establish the secured connection for you. It can't make HTTP into HTTPS on it's own. The server has to provide HTTPS in any case.

zero-g 04-15-2017 12:47 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by BurntBulb (Post 2270006)
I mainly use firefox. with it recent upgrade, I had to install all new add-ons.
Not a problem, just took some time for me to find what I wanted.

One add-on I noticed was one that would change HTTP to HTTPS.
Here's the address for it:

https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/fir...cb-dl-featured

Is this really possible?
With the problems we've had on the forums, would this work for us?
Would it work for any site?

I hope our resident experts will chime in on this.

Quote:

Originally Posted by unschlagbar (Post 2270016)
What the plugin does is if you visit a HTTP Url, it checks if there is a HTTPS respective Url available and if, establish the secured connection for you. It can't make HTTP into HTTPS on it's own. The server has to provide HTTPS in any case.


what he said ^^^^
*and the forums are already , or have been for a while now , connected via https, as is the main site. Atleast that's how I've been connected.

moefugger 04-15-2017 02:19 PM

Apparently he has no idea what HTTPS is.
Google can be your friend if you let it.

Private-Parts 04-15-2017 03:07 PM

Lies! :rolleye:

BurntBulb 04-17-2017 06:49 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by unschlagbar (Post 2270016)
What the plugin does is if you visit a HTTP Url, it checks if there is a HTTPS respective Url available and if, establish the secured connection for you. It can't make HTTP into HTTPS on it's own. The server has to provide HTTPS in any case.

I see. I couldn't figure how a lowly add-on could change to a secure connection all by itself.
Didn't make sense to me, but with the rapid advance in programing it wouldn't surprise me if someone does do it.

zero-g 04-17-2017 12:53 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by BurntBulb (Post 2270148)
I see. I couldn't figure how a lowly add-on could change to a secure connection all by itself.
Didn't make sense to me, but with the rapid advance in programing it wouldn't surprise me if someone does do it.

well, you can't just make a protocol change itself, which is why they either create new ones that are more secure, or tunnel them within one that is.
That add on is a pretty handy way to check for and apply a secure connection for most people who wouldn't even know the difference between the two. This is something I think you'll likely find as a default action in most web browsers before too long.

BurntBulb 04-17-2017 09:51 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by zero-g (Post 2270159)
well, you can't just make a protocol change itself, which is why they either create new ones that are more secure, or tunnel them within one that is.
That add on is a pretty handy way to check for and apply a secure connection for most people who wouldn't even know the difference between the two. This is something I think you'll likely find as a default action in most web browsers before too long.

that's the way I was thinking when I 1st saw this add-on.
How the F could it literally make a secure url? :wtfh:

I was actually thinking with this add-on somebody had done this!
Wouldn't surprise me if it did happen though.
After 35+ years in electronics and computers, I've learned never to say never. If somebody says it can't be done, there's 10 people out there trying to figure how to do just that.

With the exponential growth in programming and coding no one individual can keep up with it anymore. That's why we gave it up some years back, and just sub-contracted it out. Was faster, cheaper, and lot less stress on our middle-aged brains!

htos1 05-09-2017 04:37 PM

I love Firefox. Have been using it daily since it was called the "Spry Mosaic", in 1992. Just wish it wasn't so memory intensive, but i understand that has to be due to it's capabilities.
I still have that set of floppy disc installers to this day.


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:37 PM.