Liveleak Forums

Liveleak Forums (http://forums.liveleak.com/index.php)
-   Internet Related (http://forums.liveleak.com/forumdisplay.php?f=251)
-   -   My internet sucks & here is my speedtest (http://forums.liveleak.com/showthread.php?t=99896)

seanjo 02-03-2013 05:34 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Smudgen (Post 1737474)
We were with comcast .... great but too pricy.
Had our own modem/router whatever it's called.

Then we did AT&T.
Dude came ;hooked up a phone jack....we didn't know why or care.
We thought we were with AT&T for $15.00 a month --- then to $30.00 later.

All was well.

Our shit cut off one day... a month ago.
I called AT&T .....they didn't know we existed tho we've been paying.

Got it all straight (on phone with 6 people , 1 hour+.

Then we hear we have to get another modem/router box. Says AT&T on it---$80.00.

Now this.

This has been going on but I NOW have had it , lol.

So............. I brought it up here.
Looks like I'll be getting a headache & being on the phone bitching or cancelling , pronto.

Check your cables...they are not indestructible and they don't last forever, do some system cleaning as well, and check to see what is running in the background!

Bologna_Skins 02-03-2013 05:53 PM

http://www.speedtest.net/result/2483691041.png

Amish Paradise over here. :rolleyes: But, it doesn't cost me anything either. Been considering an upgrade but choices here are for shit. No fiber optics, no speed.

Edit: Are you on AT&T DSL or on U-Verse? I have the DSL and it fucking blows. No plans to install fiber optic cable out here any time soon. I had U-Verse in Detroit and it was quicker than shit for the price. Shitty thing is, I live <2 miles from town center and THEY get it.

Yeah, I'd be wringing a neck or two if I was you.

Smudgen 02-03-2013 06:06 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by seanjo (Post 1737496)
Check your cables...they are not indestructible and they don't last forever, do some system cleaning as well, and check to see what is running in the background!

Did that & we have new cables because now ... we are going thru the phone line ....it sux.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Bologna_Skins (Post 1737523)
http://www.speedtest.net/result/2483691041.png

Amish Paradise over here. :rolleyes: But, it doesn't cost me anything either. Been considering an upgrade but choices here are for shit. No fiber optics, no speed.

Edit: Are you on AT&T DSL or on U-Verse? I have the DSL and it fucking blows. No plans to install fiber optic cable out here any time soon. I had U-Verse in Detroit and it was quicker than shit for the price. Shitty thing is, I live <2 miles from town center and THEY get it.

Yeah, I'd be wringing a neck or two if I was you.

Yup.

DSL ....if I new that at the time I would have never done it.
Odd thing is , the guy who hooked us up HAD to see our modem/router & cable hook up.

This whole thing is a pile of shit man.:mad:
We had to get AT&T modem /whatever & go thru the phone line as we were talking to AT&T reps .......... shit on this.
All different & sooooooooooo shittay.

Gonna pack a cooler & do up the woods ... then come in a bit wobbly & have rotel & brats w/Keka.

:)

Bologna_Skins 02-03-2013 06:27 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Smudgen (Post 1737544)
Gonna pack a cooler & do up the woods ... then come in a bit wobbly & have rotel & brats w/Keka.

:)

And fudge for dessert. That shit don't keep forever, man. Tear it up. I'm doin' up a rack of ribs and other fixins fer the Super Bowl. See ya in chat after maybe.

moefugger 02-03-2013 06:44 PM

Try turning off the Windows Firewall and let the router firewall operate only.
Run only one virus checker, in fact turn all off for the test.
Unplug all phone filters
Kill power to the modem and the puter.
Then turn it all on.
Test, with the phone filters and anything else off.
Post the results.
I am at the edge of DSL service.
I get about 1.8 to 2.2 Meg down and always 320 K up.

Tinbuk3 02-03-2013 07:04 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Smudgen (Post 1737428)
http://www.speedtest.net/result/2483523012.png

It was graded an F- !!! :rolleye:

ping 167 ms
Download speed 0.65 mbps
upload speed 0.11 mbps

I dunno a lot of internet shits but .... this sucks !
All videos are slow , stop /start a lot - buffer , or load forever.

We are with AT&T & are connected thru the damn phone line.

Our old more expensive connection was Comcast - thru the cable lines.

WTF ?

You useing wifi? Change your password.

philomath 02-03-2013 08:53 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Smudgen (Post 1737428)
http://www.speedtest.net/result/2483523012.png

It was graded an F- !!! :rolleye:

ping 167 ms
Download speed 0.65 mbps
upload speed 0.11 mbps

I dunno a lot of internet shits but .... this sucks !
All videos are slow , stop /start a lot - buffer , or load forever.

We are with AT&T & are connected thru the damn phone line.

Our old more expensive connection was Comcast - thru the cable lines.

WTF ?

There could be many reasons for such crappy stats.
1st) It looks about dead on for old dial-up standards. For this reason, I would suggest you find out just what you have purchased. If you are buying old stats, cancel it and go with something else. You, at that point would be being cheated, officially. You can buy better numbers almost anywhere on earth at a better rate than you would be , at 30.00 a month.

2nd). Are you using wireless? If so, does your modem have a cat-5 cable connection/s? Almost all of them do. If so, disable your wireless and connect the laptop or terminal straight to the modem with the cat-5, reboot, and run the test again. If the numbers stay constant, then you are relatively sure that the restriction is either on their end (the dial-up numbers they are assigning you), or in your hardware somewhere (modem, wires, or jacks).

If your numbers increase and you have a hardware router in between the modem and the computer(All sane folks should) then plug the cat 5 from the computer to one of the ports on the back of the router (Hopefully you don't have a wireless only router) and repeat the test.

If the numbers still stay high, then you know for sure the problem is your wireless or some restricting software killing your transfer rate. If the numbers crap out again, you need a router or the cable between the router and the modem is bad. Easy as pie for ya, Sir.

Buzz me if I can help, you, Sir.

Waves to all, Philo

Smudgen 02-27-2013 02:06 AM

To all who assisted ... we now have our bad ass internet back to specs.


We got a free modem & box equipment for U-Verse ... also some $$ taken off the last bill.

It is faster than the previous service before fuck all broke out over a month ago .....so far , lol , & we should be paying $41.00 a month now.

If all remains as it should ........ this is satisfactory.

:)

noxomus 02-27-2013 02:16 AM

1 Attachment(s)
cablevision internet $65 a month with boost

Attachment 112337

Tinbuk3 02-27-2013 02:45 AM

Well thank god .. I was beginning to think this was turning into under achievers anonymous here. :)


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:16 AM.