Liveleak Forums  

Go Back   Liveleak Forums > Information and Support. > Member Support > Computer Hardware

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-04-2012, 10:56 AM   #1
tonyy
LiveLeaker
 
tonyy's Avatar
 

Join Date: May 2007
Location: Under dictatorship
Posts: 23,401
tonyy is a forum GOD!!tonyy is a forum GOD!!tonyy is a forum GOD!!tonyy is a forum GOD!!tonyy is a forum GOD!!tonyy is a forum GOD!!tonyy is a forum GOD!!tonyy is a forum GOD!!tonyy is a forum GOD!!tonyy is a forum GOD!!tonyy is a forum GOD!!
Points: 1,515,663,821, Level: 100
Points: 1,515,663,821, Level: 100 Points: 1,515,663,821, Level: 100 Points: 1,515,663,821, Level: 100
Activity: 24%
Activity: 24% Activity: 24% Activity: 24%
Default Performance boost.

Ok I've been back in the land of hardware lately researching a new laptop which I've purchased, It's an Acer Aspire V3.
The specs are pretty good considering the price point;


Specifications
Product Description Acer V3-571G-53214G50Makk
Screen 15.6" LED - Gloss / 1366x768
Processor Intel Core i5 3210M - 2.5GHz
Memory (Expandable up to) 4GB DDR3 SODIMM (Max up to 8GB)
Hard Drive 500GB - 5400rpm
Graphics Card NVIDIA GeForce GT630M - 1GB
Optical Drive DVD±RW (±R DL) / DVD-RAM
Card Reader Yes
Network Gigabit Ethernet
Wireless Network Wireless-N
Webcam 1.3 Megapixel
Connections HDMI, VGA, 1 x USB 3.0, 2 x USB 2.0
Battery 6 cells Lithium
Warranty 2 years
Operating system Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium 64-Bit Edition
Other Software Microsoft Office Starter, Bing Bar, Windows Live Essentials
Dimensions (wxdxh)
Weight 2.5kg's.

I'm thinking of upgrading the HDD to an SSD as my primary drive and doubling my memory at the same time.
I've finally settled for the Corsair Vengeance 8GB performance upgrade kit and the Kingston HyperX 120GB SSD.

http://www.komplett.ie/komplett/prod...0/details.aspx

http://www.komplett.ie/komplett/prod...0/details.aspx

Has anyone used either of these product's on they're laptops and what were your thought's?, did it significantly boost performance?, was it easy to install etc.
One last thing, anyone know a good system migration program?, I need to put my OS on the SSD.
__________________
Waterboard chug champion
tonyy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2012, 12:31 PM   #2
dad61
Dumpster Diving
 

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Just left of Uranus
Posts: 33,220
dad61 is a forum GOD!!dad61 is a forum GOD!!dad61 is a forum GOD!!dad61 is a forum GOD!!dad61 is a forum GOD!!dad61 is a forum GOD!!dad61 is a forum GOD!!dad61 is a forum GOD!!dad61 is a forum GOD!!dad61 is a forum GOD!!dad61 is a forum GOD!!
Points: 1,956,337,649, Level: 100
Points: 1,956,337,649, Level: 100 Points: 1,956,337,649, Level: 100 Points: 1,956,337,649, Level: 100
Activity: 21%
Activity: 21% Activity: 21% Activity: 21%
Default

There's a ton of freeware out there for that tonyy, I've used this one and this one successfully, but this one is my go to.

You'll might have to re-register windows though, sometimes I have to and sometimes I don't, it's no biggie, but make sure your on line and not wirelessly either.

I'm still fixing up lappy's for the kids at the community (youth) center, but I never buy any parts, I scavenge, so I really can't help with that.
dad61 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2012, 12:35 PM   #3
john1054
Bohemian Grove Reject
 
john1054's Avatar
 

Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Tennessee, USA
Posts: 2,753
john1054 is a forum GOD!!john1054 is a forum GOD!!john1054 is a forum GOD!!john1054 is a forum GOD!!john1054 is a forum GOD!!john1054 is a forum GOD!!john1054 is a forum GOD!!john1054 is a forum GOD!!john1054 is a forum GOD!!john1054 is a forum GOD!!john1054 is a forum GOD!!
Points: 850,247,769, Level: 100
Points: 850,247,769, Level: 100 Points: 850,247,769, Level: 100 Points: 850,247,769, Level: 100
Activity: 10%
Activity: 10% Activity: 10% Activity: 10%
Default

I can't tell you much about the hardware. I looked because the title sounded like you were going to discuss sex pills on a computer support forum.
__________________
"In the most corrupt state are the most laws." (Tacitus)
john1054 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2012, 01:51 PM   #4
zero-g
Premium Member
 
zero-g's Avatar
 

Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Here
Posts: 10,122
zero-g is a forum GOD!!zero-g is a forum GOD!!zero-g is a forum GOD!!zero-g is a forum GOD!!zero-g is a forum GOD!!zero-g is a forum GOD!!zero-g is a forum GOD!!zero-g is a forum GOD!!zero-g is a forum GOD!!zero-g is a forum GOD!!zero-g is a forum GOD!!
Points: 1,924,783,271, Level: 100
Points: 1,924,783,271, Level: 100 Points: 1,924,783,271, Level: 100 Points: 1,924,783,271, Level: 100
Activity: 28%
Activity: 28% Activity: 28% Activity: 28%
Default

Do you have a windows 7 disk?
you can use windows 7 back up and recovery to make a back up of all your settings and data.

Create a backup of your data and settings before you do anything, then make the factory os back up disk if you don't have one, you can probably find a download on line somewhere, but it won't have the extras that were loaded on your laptop from the factory and you'll likely need to find network drivers before you can connect to the internet.

change your hardware, load the os, reregister it with microsoft.I think 7 does it automaticly when you update,but if not just use the numbers on the laptop, they will be legit.
Then load the data and settings back up.

less time consuming but not free. --
Buy a copy of ACRONIS TRUE IMAGE , Burn an image and reload it. Does the os and everything.
__________________

Last edited by zero-g; 08-04-2012 at 01:53 PM.
zero-g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2012, 02:55 PM   #5
dad61
Dumpster Diving
 

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Just left of Uranus
Posts: 33,220
dad61 is a forum GOD!!dad61 is a forum GOD!!dad61 is a forum GOD!!dad61 is a forum GOD!!dad61 is a forum GOD!!dad61 is a forum GOD!!dad61 is a forum GOD!!dad61 is a forum GOD!!dad61 is a forum GOD!!dad61 is a forum GOD!!dad61 is a forum GOD!!
Points: 1,956,337,649, Level: 100
Points: 1,956,337,649, Level: 100 Points: 1,956,337,649, Level: 100 Points: 1,956,337,649, Level: 100
Activity: 21%
Activity: 21% Activity: 21% Activity: 21%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zero-g View Post
Do you have a windows 7 disk?
you can use windows 7 back up and recovery to make a back up of all your settings and data.

Create a backup of your data and settings before you do anything, then make the factory os back up disk if you don't have one, you can probably find a download on line somewhere, but it won't have the extras that were loaded on your laptop from the factory and you'll likely need to find network drivers before you can connect to the internet.

change your hardware, load the os, reregister it with microsoft.I think 7 does it automaticly when you update,but if not just use the numbers on the laptop, they will be legit.
Then load the data and settings back up.

less time consuming but not free. --
Buy a copy of ACRONIS TRUE IMAGE , Burn an image and reload it. Does the os and everything.
Damned good advice, except I don't see the need to buy a copy of Acronis, I've got Acronis 10 and it's really no better than any of the free ones I suggested, when it comes to what he needs to do. You really think it's faster? I dunno 'bout that, I'd have to time it, lol.
dad61 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2012, 03:20 PM   #6
zero-g
Premium Member
 
zero-g's Avatar
 

Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Here
Posts: 10,122
zero-g is a forum GOD!!zero-g is a forum GOD!!zero-g is a forum GOD!!zero-g is a forum GOD!!zero-g is a forum GOD!!zero-g is a forum GOD!!zero-g is a forum GOD!!zero-g is a forum GOD!!zero-g is a forum GOD!!zero-g is a forum GOD!!zero-g is a forum GOD!!
Points: 1,924,783,271, Level: 100
Points: 1,924,783,271, Level: 100 Points: 1,924,783,271, Level: 100 Points: 1,924,783,271, Level: 100
Activity: 28%
Activity: 28% Activity: 28% Activity: 28%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dad61 View Post
Damned good advice, except I don't see the need to buy a copy of Acronis, I've got Acronis 10 and it's really no better than any of the free ones I suggested, when it comes to what he needs to do. You really think it's faster? I dunno 'bout that, I'd have to time it, lol.

I honestly didn't even look at the links you provided. doh!

So I couldn't compare them, but Acronis is a really good program and worth the money if you have critical data to back up.

There's nothing wrong with free, other than usually no real time support.
So if you've used the others before, I'll take your word for it that they're as good as the paid version
I'll have to go and check those out.
__________________
zero-g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2012, 03:28 PM   #7
moefugger
Cygnus-X1
 
moefugger's Avatar
 

Join Date: May 2007
Location: US Jacksonville
Posts: 8,271
moefugger is a forum GOD!!moefugger is a forum GOD!!moefugger is a forum GOD!!moefugger is a forum GOD!!moefugger is a forum GOD!!moefugger is a forum GOD!!moefugger is a forum GOD!!moefugger is a forum GOD!!moefugger is a forum GOD!!moefugger is a forum GOD!!moefugger is a forum GOD!!
Points: 989,537,196, Level: 100
Points: 989,537,196, Level: 100 Points: 989,537,196, Level: 100 Points: 989,537,196, Level: 100
Activity: 23%
Activity: 23% Activity: 23% Activity: 23%
Default

Careful with the SSD. It will mainly speed up boot up times but everything else already should load pretty good.
Those SSDs have a tendency to die suddenly when they do die as opposed to an HD which usually will give you indications early enough to let you back everything up.
If your puter can accept two drives then keep the HD and use the SSD for the OS and always try to load any software on the HD if it gives the option when installing.
Then keep backing up the SSD every week.
__________________
Wenn ist das Nunstruck git und Slotermeyer? Ja!...
Beiherhund das Oder die Flipperwaldt gersput.
FHRITP
moefugger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2012, 11:04 AM   #8
tonyy
LiveLeaker
 
tonyy's Avatar
 

Join Date: May 2007
Location: Under dictatorship
Posts: 23,401
tonyy is a forum GOD!!tonyy is a forum GOD!!tonyy is a forum GOD!!tonyy is a forum GOD!!tonyy is a forum GOD!!tonyy is a forum GOD!!tonyy is a forum GOD!!tonyy is a forum GOD!!tonyy is a forum GOD!!tonyy is a forum GOD!!tonyy is a forum GOD!!
Points: 1,515,663,821, Level: 100
Points: 1,515,663,821, Level: 100 Points: 1,515,663,821, Level: 100 Points: 1,515,663,821, Level: 100
Activity: 24%
Activity: 24% Activity: 24% Activity: 24%
Default

Thanks for the suggestions chaps, can't wait too get my hands on it now..
__________________
Waterboard chug champion
tonyy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2012, 04:03 PM   #9
DontTreadOnMe2
LL_FFL Champion 2009,2012
 
DontTreadOnMe2's Avatar
 

Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: US
Posts: 5,291
DontTreadOnMe2 is a forum GOD!!DontTreadOnMe2 is a forum GOD!!DontTreadOnMe2 is a forum GOD!!DontTreadOnMe2 is a forum GOD!!DontTreadOnMe2 is a forum GOD!!DontTreadOnMe2 is a forum GOD!!DontTreadOnMe2 is a forum GOD!!DontTreadOnMe2 is a forum GOD!!DontTreadOnMe2 is a forum GOD!!DontTreadOnMe2 is a forum GOD!!DontTreadOnMe2 is a forum GOD!!
Points: 387,054,510, Level: 100
Points: 387,054,510, Level: 100 Points: 387,054,510, Level: 100 Points: 387,054,510, Level: 100
Activity: 1%
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
Default

I use clonezilla for image backup - free and easy to use.
__________________
"Politics is the art of looking for trouble, finding it everywhere, diagnosing it incorrectly, and applying the wrong remedies." —Groucho Marx
DontTreadOnMe2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:25 AM.