Liveleak Forums  

Go Back   Liveleak Forums > Information and Support. > Member Support > Computer Hardware

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-14-2012, 04:35 PM   #11
keepclosed
LiveLeaker
 

Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 19
keepclosed practically a forum legendkeepclosed practically a forum legendkeepclosed practically a forum legendkeepclosed practically a forum legendkeepclosed practically a forum legendkeepclosed practically a forum legendkeepclosed practically a forum legendkeepclosed practically a forum legendkeepclosed practically a forum legendkeepclosed practically a forum legendkeepclosed practically a forum legend
Points: 247,288, Level: 70
Points: 247,288, Level: 70 Points: 247,288, Level: 70 Points: 247,288, Level: 70
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default

I went through a similar problem with win7, freezing, bsod, crashing. Checked the ram, malware, disks etc. and eventually narrowed it down to a win7 driver problem for an external wifi antenna. It was conflicting with the usb hub I was using, problem was eliminated when I connected the usb antenna to its own usb port. My advice would be to make sure you have all your drivers up to date, and if you use a hub/external devices, disconnect them one over a period of time, to see if the problem clears up.
keepclosed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2012, 04:55 PM   #12
smeblee
Dumpster Diving
 

Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 24,084
smeblee is a forum GOD!!smeblee is a forum GOD!!smeblee is a forum GOD!!smeblee is a forum GOD!!smeblee is a forum GOD!!smeblee is a forum GOD!!smeblee is a forum GOD!!smeblee is a forum GOD!!smeblee is a forum GOD!!smeblee is a forum GOD!!smeblee is a forum GOD!!
Points: 2,147,544,432, Level: 100
Points: 2,147,544,432, Level: 100 Points: 2,147,544,432, Level: 100 Points: 2,147,544,432, Level: 100
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by keepclosed View Post
I went through a similar problem with win7, freezing, bsod, crashing. Checked the ram, malware, disks etc. and eventually narrowed it down to a win7 driver problem for an external wifi antenna. It was conflicting with the usb hub I was using, problem was eliminated when I connected the usb antenna to its own usb port. My advice would be to make sure you have all your drivers up to date, and if you use a hub/external devices, disconnect them one over a period of time, to see if the problem clears up.
Funny you should mention that, it does play up, when my wi fi is buggy.. Hmmmm
smeblee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2012, 06:45 PM   #13
htos1
Htos1 Since 1984
 
htos1's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,375
htos1 is a forum GOD!!htos1 is a forum GOD!!htos1 is a forum GOD!!htos1 is a forum GOD!!htos1 is a forum GOD!!htos1 is a forum GOD!!htos1 is a forum GOD!!htos1 is a forum GOD!!htos1 is a forum GOD!!htos1 is a forum GOD!!htos1 is a forum GOD!!
Points: 30,691,692, Level: 100
Points: 30,691,692, Level: 100 Points: 30,691,692, Level: 100 Points: 30,691,692, Level: 100
Activity: 2%
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
Default

Yeah,cpu and memory are a bit flea-powered.A new rig is in order.For $400 US you can have a rocking system,if carefully planned and built.
htos1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2012, 06:46 PM   #14
htos1
Htos1 Since 1984
 
htos1's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,375
htos1 is a forum GOD!!htos1 is a forum GOD!!htos1 is a forum GOD!!htos1 is a forum GOD!!htos1 is a forum GOD!!htos1 is a forum GOD!!htos1 is a forum GOD!!htos1 is a forum GOD!!htos1 is a forum GOD!!htos1 is a forum GOD!!htos1 is a forum GOD!!
Points: 30,691,692, Level: 100
Points: 30,691,692, Level: 100 Points: 30,691,692, Level: 100 Points: 30,691,692, Level: 100
Activity: 2%
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by alch3my_au View Post
The eee series were never meant to be super computers. Just saying.
Win7 says 2gb min, Its wrong. 4gb and nothing less these days! (then again some fools dont even install 64bit OSes on their 64bit architecture! which is pointless if you got 4+gb)

Ed;
If you want a decent use for it, say hello to your new htpc! (not sure itll even run HD movies though )
It's been a given since Aug.1995(win95)that you should,at least,double ram specs on a windows box.
htos1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2012, 07:16 PM   #15
Tinbuk3
still winning
 
Tinbuk3's Avatar
 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Basketville USA
Posts: 25,430
Tinbuk3 is a forum GOD!!Tinbuk3 is a forum GOD!!Tinbuk3 is a forum GOD!!Tinbuk3 is a forum GOD!!Tinbuk3 is a forum GOD!!Tinbuk3 is a forum GOD!!Tinbuk3 is a forum GOD!!Tinbuk3 is a forum GOD!!Tinbuk3 is a forum GOD!!Tinbuk3 is a forum GOD!!Tinbuk3 is a forum GOD!!
Points: 2,147,536,465, Level: 100
Points: 2,147,536,465, Level: 100 Points: 2,147,536,465, Level: 100 Points: 2,147,536,465, Level: 100
Activity: 67%
Activity: 67% Activity: 67% Activity: 67%
Default

You bought a notebook .. trying to save space are we?
__________________
The fate of those who do not listen are condemned to feel.
Tinbuk3
Tinbuk3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2012, 12:20 AM   #16
The_evil_one
LiveLeaker
 
The_evil_one's Avatar
 

Join Date: May 2008
Location: Mother's Basement
Posts: 280
The_evil_one is a forum GOD!!The_evil_one is a forum GOD!!The_evil_one is a forum GOD!!The_evil_one is a forum GOD!!The_evil_one is a forum GOD!!The_evil_one is a forum GOD!!The_evil_one is a forum GOD!!The_evil_one is a forum GOD!!The_evil_one is a forum GOD!!The_evil_one is a forum GOD!!The_evil_one is a forum GOD!!
Points: 36,446,211, Level: 100
Points: 36,446,211, Level: 100 Points: 36,446,211, Level: 100 Points: 36,446,211, Level: 100
Activity: 1%
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
Default

It sounds more like you're having software problems. Are you running Win 7 as it came from the factory? If so, definitely perform a clean install. Most of the major manufacturers now (Asus included) are preloading machines with any gods amount of shit. Trust me, it will run much better without.

Windows 7 can run well enough on 2GiB.. More is better if you multitask to any great extent, but 2GiB is completely serviceable. Take a look at this...



One windows home server with 1.5GiB and three windows 7 machines with 2GiB RAM and a single Virtual CPU each - All running (idling albeit) on the same physical system with virtually zero CPU overhead.

Windows 7 is an excellent OS, it's the people who use it that are the problem..
The_evil_one is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:07 PM.