Liveleak Forums  

Go Back   Liveleak Forums > Information and Support. > Member Support > Computer Hardware

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-19-2012, 02:59 AM   #1
ERiC_DrAyViN
"Hayden I am your father"
 
ERiC_DrAyViN's Avatar
 

Join Date: May 2007
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 6,523
ERiC_DrAyViN is a forum GOD!!ERiC_DrAyViN is a forum GOD!!ERiC_DrAyViN is a forum GOD!!ERiC_DrAyViN is a forum GOD!!ERiC_DrAyViN is a forum GOD!!ERiC_DrAyViN is a forum GOD!!ERiC_DrAyViN is a forum GOD!!ERiC_DrAyViN is a forum GOD!!ERiC_DrAyViN is a forum GOD!!ERiC_DrAyViN is a forum GOD!!ERiC_DrAyViN is a forum GOD!!
Points: 198,793,957, Level: 100
Points: 198,793,957, Level: 100 Points: 198,793,957, Level: 100 Points: 198,793,957, Level: 100
Activity: 3%
Activity: 3% Activity: 3% Activity: 3%
Default Where is the motherboard battery located?

My pc is losing time and date when i pull the plug out to go to bed. I come come back next day plug in my pc turn it on and get a CMOS error.

The funny thing is ive had the computer open many a time with my litany of 'issues' but never noticed a battery?

My mobo is a ASUS P5N-D 750i SLI.
__________________
"ur 1st sentence is LOL. however, according to my sources, u had something u desired to communicate regarding polonium213. unless it was the incompetent whiney gibberish from euro lib shitbag cowardly vaginas, probably, then u can address it via pm " -- Polonium213

you just don't hit a kid, especially not your own! -- meno
ERiC_DrAyViN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2012, 03:08 AM   #2
Bologna_Skins
You can call me Sugardick
 
Bologna_Skins's Avatar
 

Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Chowderville
Posts: 7,274
Bologna_Skins is a forum GOD!!Bologna_Skins is a forum GOD!!Bologna_Skins is a forum GOD!!Bologna_Skins is a forum GOD!!Bologna_Skins is a forum GOD!!Bologna_Skins is a forum GOD!!Bologna_Skins is a forum GOD!!Bologna_Skins is a forum GOD!!Bologna_Skins is a forum GOD!!Bologna_Skins is a forum GOD!!Bologna_Skins is a forum GOD!!
Points: 1,538,534,658, Level: 100
Points: 1,538,534,658, Level: 100 Points: 1,538,534,658, Level: 100 Points: 1,538,534,658, Level: 100
Activity: 6%
Activity: 6% Activity: 6% Activity: 6%
Default

Funny, I just had to replace mine. Had all the same symptoms, and was getting a BIOS error notification on start up.

On my board, it's a small, 1" diameter tablet battery, located right next to the RAM cards. It's the only one in the case, so it's easy to find.

After you replace it, you will likely get the same error again at start up, but just restart the pc and it should go away.
Bologna_Skins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2012, 03:14 AM   #3
seanjo
Spunking Fucknuts!
 
seanjo's Avatar
 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Hobbiton
Posts: 43,964
seanjo is a forum GOD!!seanjo is a forum GOD!!seanjo is a forum GOD!!seanjo is a forum GOD!!seanjo is a forum GOD!!seanjo is a forum GOD!!seanjo is a forum GOD!!seanjo is a forum GOD!!seanjo is a forum GOD!!seanjo is a forum GOD!!seanjo is a forum GOD!!
Points: 2,147,583,409, Level: 100
Points: 2,147,583,409, Level: 100 Points: 2,147,583,409, Level: 100 Points: 2,147,583,409, Level: 100
Activity: 83%
Activity: 83% Activity: 83% Activity: 83%
Default

Generally looks like this...if that isn't enough give us your Mobo make and model.

CMOS-batt.jpg
__________________
The most elementary and valuable statement in science, the beginning of wisdom, is ‘I do not know’.

If you read it on the internet, it must be true.

Abraham Lincoln
seanjo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2012, 03:23 AM   #4
IUSAI
Maslow's hammer
Drag Race Champion Funky Pong Champion
 
IUSAI's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 4,710
IUSAI is a forum GOD!!IUSAI is a forum GOD!!IUSAI is a forum GOD!!IUSAI is a forum GOD!!IUSAI is a forum GOD!!IUSAI is a forum GOD!!IUSAI is a forum GOD!!IUSAI is a forum GOD!!IUSAI is a forum GOD!!IUSAI is a forum GOD!!IUSAI is a forum GOD!!
Points: 11,035,826, Level: 100
Points: 11,035,826, Level: 100 Points: 11,035,826, Level: 100 Points: 11,035,826, Level: 100
Activity: 50%
Activity: 50% Activity: 50% Activity: 50%
Default

Where is my motherboard battery located?

Motherboard, where my battery is located.
__________________
Suck my fist, asshole -Sheetrock Sam
IUSAI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2012, 03:34 AM   #5
Tinbuk3
still winning
 
Tinbuk3's Avatar
 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Basketville USA
Posts: 25,430
Tinbuk3 is a forum GOD!!Tinbuk3 is a forum GOD!!Tinbuk3 is a forum GOD!!Tinbuk3 is a forum GOD!!Tinbuk3 is a forum GOD!!Tinbuk3 is a forum GOD!!Tinbuk3 is a forum GOD!!Tinbuk3 is a forum GOD!!Tinbuk3 is a forum GOD!!Tinbuk3 is a forum GOD!!Tinbuk3 is a forum GOD!!
Points: 2,147,536,465, Level: 100
Points: 2,147,536,465, Level: 100 Points: 2,147,536,465, Level: 100 Points: 2,147,536,465, Level: 100
Activity: 67%
Activity: 67% Activity: 67% Activity: 67%
Default

I don't do many Intel boards anymore but I do know if you cant see it then its probably hidden under your video/plug in cards.
If theyre occupied theres a good chance you cant see it so you will have to remove one or both but most likely the bottom one should do the trick.
__________________
The fate of those who do not listen are condemned to feel.
Tinbuk3
Tinbuk3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2012, 03:36 AM   #6
ModusOP
What's your diameter?
 

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: US chattanooga
Posts: 18,753
ModusOP is a forum GOD!!ModusOP is a forum GOD!!ModusOP is a forum GOD!!ModusOP is a forum GOD!!ModusOP is a forum GOD!!ModusOP is a forum GOD!!ModusOP is a forum GOD!!ModusOP is a forum GOD!!ModusOP is a forum GOD!!ModusOP is a forum GOD!!ModusOP is a forum GOD!!
Points: 397,063,534, Level: 100
Points: 397,063,534, Level: 100 Points: 397,063,534, Level: 100 Points: 397,063,534, Level: 100
Activity: 3%
Activity: 3% Activity: 3% Activity: 3%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bologna_Skins View Post
Funny, I just had to replace mine. Had all the same symptoms, and was getting a BIOS error notification on start up.

On my board, it's a small, 1" diameter tablet battery, located right next to the RAM cards. It's the only one in the case, so it's easy to find.

After you replace it, you will likely get the same error again at start up, but just restart the pc and it should go away.

Yeah what we call here in the states as a "watch" battery, a small round tablet sized bat. mine was also right next to my RAM cards I believe but it's been a long time since I changed it. E from what I read while doing research before I changed mine was that they are sometimes under a cover so you might have to search a bit for it. Good luck man I'm sure you'll find it soon especially now that Bolo gave you an idea of what to look for, you would not initially think of looking for a small round watch battery I assume.
__________________
"'Stay Hungry. Stay Foolish.' And I have always wished that for myself." - Steve Jobs
ModusOP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2012, 03:38 AM   #7
laserjobs
LiveLeaker
 
laserjobs's Avatar
 

Join Date: May 2007
Location: US
Posts: 6,193
laserjobs is a forum GOD!!laserjobs is a forum GOD!!laserjobs is a forum GOD!!laserjobs is a forum GOD!!laserjobs is a forum GOD!!laserjobs is a forum GOD!!laserjobs is a forum GOD!!laserjobs is a forum GOD!!laserjobs is a forum GOD!!laserjobs is a forum GOD!!laserjobs is a forum GOD!!
Points: 940,751,738, Level: 100
Points: 940,751,738, Level: 100 Points: 940,751,738, Level: 100 Points: 940,751,738, Level: 100
Activity: 6%
Activity: 6% Activity: 6% Activity: 6%
Default

You can see it between the card slots
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 766442.jpg (36.3 KB, 16 views)
laserjobs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2012, 04:26 AM   #8
BurntBulb
LiveLeaker
 
BurntBulb's Avatar
 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 15,928
BurntBulb is a forum GOD!!BurntBulb is a forum GOD!!BurntBulb is a forum GOD!!BurntBulb is a forum GOD!!BurntBulb is a forum GOD!!BurntBulb is a forum GOD!!BurntBulb is a forum GOD!!BurntBulb is a forum GOD!!BurntBulb is a forum GOD!!BurntBulb is a forum GOD!!BurntBulb is a forum GOD!!
Points: 189,382,041, Level: 100
Points: 189,382,041, Level: 100 Points: 189,382,041, Level: 100 Points: 189,382,041, Level: 100
Activity: 68%
Activity: 68% Activity: 68% Activity: 68%
Default

Why would you be unplugging your computer?
Sure I can see physically disconnecting the net connections, and turning the machine off! But unplugging the power?
There's a little circuit on the mother-board that keeps the battery charged, even if it's turned off. That battery keeps the volatile memory active, so you don't get the those CMOS errors at turn-on/start-up!

The hardest thing you can do to a computer is to unplug it!
BurntBulb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2012, 04:59 AM   #9
moefugger
Cygnus-X1
 
moefugger's Avatar
 

Join Date: May 2007
Location: US Jacksonville
Posts: 8,270
moefugger is a forum GOD!!moefugger is a forum GOD!!moefugger is a forum GOD!!moefugger is a forum GOD!!moefugger is a forum GOD!!moefugger is a forum GOD!!moefugger is a forum GOD!!moefugger is a forum GOD!!moefugger is a forum GOD!!moefugger is a forum GOD!!moefugger is a forum GOD!!
Points: 989,537,196, Level: 100
Points: 989,537,196, Level: 100 Points: 989,537,196, Level: 100 Points: 989,537,196, Level: 100
Activity: 23%
Activity: 23% Activity: 23% Activity: 23%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BurntBulb View Post
Why would you be unplugging your computer?
That is what I was wondering.
Hope he shuts it down correctly and does not just yank out the cord.
__________________
Wenn ist das Nunstruck git und Slotermeyer? Ja!...
Beiherhund das Oder die Flipperwaldt gersput.
FHRITP
moefugger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2012, 06:36 AM   #10
BurntBulb
LiveLeaker
 
BurntBulb's Avatar
 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 15,928
BurntBulb is a forum GOD!!BurntBulb is a forum GOD!!BurntBulb is a forum GOD!!BurntBulb is a forum GOD!!BurntBulb is a forum GOD!!BurntBulb is a forum GOD!!BurntBulb is a forum GOD!!BurntBulb is a forum GOD!!BurntBulb is a forum GOD!!BurntBulb is a forum GOD!!BurntBulb is a forum GOD!!
Points: 189,382,041, Level: 100
Points: 189,382,041, Level: 100 Points: 189,382,041, Level: 100 Points: 189,382,041, Level: 100
Activity: 68%
Activity: 68% Activity: 68% Activity: 68%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by moefugger View Post
That is what I was wondering.
Hope he shuts it down correctly and does not just yank out the cord.
From the OP's description, sounds like he is unplugging the 'puter from the house line. It takes time for that small charger circuit to trickle up that battery.
I've had 'puters that the battery went bad 6 months after I got it, but I got 'puters that are 10 15 years old and have never had to change the battery!
BurntBulb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:58 AM.