Liveleak Forums  

Go Back   Liveleak Forums > Information and Support. > Member Support > Misc

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-28-2010, 12:17 PM   #1
seanjo
Comrade seanjo!
 
seanjo's Avatar
 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Hobbiton
Posts: 35,459
seanjo is a forum GOD!!seanjo is a forum GOD!!seanjo is a forum GOD!!seanjo is a forum GOD!!seanjo is a forum GOD!!seanjo is a forum GOD!!seanjo is a forum GOD!!seanjo is a forum GOD!!seanjo is a forum GOD!!seanjo is a forum GOD!!seanjo is a forum GOD!!
Points: 1,738,299,116, Level: 100
Points: 1,738,299,116, Level: 100 Points: 1,738,299,116, Level: 100 Points: 1,738,299,116, Level: 100
Activity: 99%
Activity: 99% Activity: 99% Activity: 99%
Default RalinkAPS?

What is it? it shows up on my wireless connection instead of my router (Draytek Vigor) It didn't before, the only thing I have changed is my security from WEP to WPA2.

My main concern is that I may be getting hijacked in some way...any ideas experts?

I have Google'd it, but it's all black magic and gobblajuke to me!
__________________
The most elementary and valuable statement in science, the beginning of wisdom, is ‘I do not know’.
seanjo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2010, 01:34 PM   #2
BILLYJACKONCRACK
No Not That Kinda Crack
 
BILLYJACKONCRACK's Avatar
 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Phoenix Arizona US
Posts: 803
BILLYJACKONCRACK practically a forum legendBILLYJACKONCRACK practically a forum legendBILLYJACKONCRACK practically a forum legendBILLYJACKONCRACK practically a forum legendBILLYJACKONCRACK practically a forum legendBILLYJACKONCRACK practically a forum legendBILLYJACKONCRACK practically a forum legendBILLYJACKONCRACK practically a forum legendBILLYJACKONCRACK practically a forum legendBILLYJACKONCRACK practically a forum legendBILLYJACKONCRACK practically a forum legend
Points: 232,414, Level: 68
Points: 232,414, Level: 68 Points: 232,414, Level: 68 Points: 232,414, Level: 68
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default

If you have your router "Secured" as in you need a password to gain access to it' then you should be fine. If your router is "open" no password, Then anyone within distance of you may be able to ride your wireless signal...
__________________
Are you gonna bark all day, little doggy, or are you gonna bite?
BILLYJACKONCRACK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2010, 02:15 PM   #3
lildan69us
my knickers are twisted.
 
lildan69us's Avatar
 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Jacksonville,(aka)Murderville,Florida
Posts: 1,817
lildan69us is a REALLY well liked LiveLeakerlildan69us is a REALLY well liked LiveLeakerlildan69us is a REALLY well liked LiveLeakerlildan69us is a REALLY well liked LiveLeakerlildan69us is a REALLY well liked LiveLeakerlildan69us is a REALLY well liked LiveLeakerlildan69us is a REALLY well liked LiveLeakerlildan69us is a REALLY well liked LiveLeakerlildan69us is a REALLY well liked LiveLeakerlildan69us is a REALLY well liked LiveLeakerlildan69us is a REALLY well liked LiveLeaker
Points: 158,789, Level: 56
Points: 158,789, Level: 56 Points: 158,789, Level: 56 Points: 158,789, Level: 56
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default

ralink is a brand of router could it be your neighbor has installed a new router and thats what your seeing...
generally a signal that is broadcasting in the mfg. name is not pass worded.
__________________
Touch My Junk And I'll Have You Arrested...!
"It's a Jungle out there, I'm glad I'm a Gorilla"
"If you ever see me getting beaten by the police turn off the camera and come help me"

lildan69us is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2010, 03:06 PM   #4
philomath
Gettin jiggy witit
 
philomath's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Western NC
Posts: 2,423
philomath is a forum GOD!!philomath is a forum GOD!!philomath is a forum GOD!!philomath is a forum GOD!!philomath is a forum GOD!!philomath is a forum GOD!!philomath is a forum GOD!!philomath is a forum GOD!!philomath is a forum GOD!!philomath is a forum GOD!!philomath is a forum GOD!!
Points: 55,410,479, Level: 100
Points: 55,410,479, Level: 100 Points: 55,410,479, Level: 100 Points: 55,410,479, Level: 100
Activity: 1%
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by seanjo View Post
What is it? it shows up on my wireless connection instead of my router (Draytek Vigor) It didn't before, the only thing I have changed is my security from WEP to WPA2.

My main concern is that I may be getting hijacked in some way...any ideas experts?

I have Google'd it, but it's all black magic and gobblajuke to me!
You are just fine. You're sporting at least vista unless you are running the driver for the AP for XP Pro(Access Point)

The act of going to wpa causes your terminal to communicate with its AP differently(Vastly more secure)

What you are seeing is the actual wireless connections addy id. AS in "RalinkAPS".. Ralink (Name of wireless transmitter bios/os --->>APS - ( Access point). The part of your routers software patched to its OS that allows you to have wireless communication.

OH, You can also change this from its default, in the routers wireless "ssid".

Philo Tip, its a good idea to block its broadcast id, makes for a much more secure wireless connection as well.
__________________
Never argue with an idiot. He will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

~And The Beat Goes On~

Last edited by philomath; 06-28-2010 at 03:11 PM.
philomath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2010, 04:21 PM   #5
seanjo
Comrade seanjo!
 
seanjo's Avatar
 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Hobbiton
Posts: 35,459
seanjo is a forum GOD!!seanjo is a forum GOD!!seanjo is a forum GOD!!seanjo is a forum GOD!!seanjo is a forum GOD!!seanjo is a forum GOD!!seanjo is a forum GOD!!seanjo is a forum GOD!!seanjo is a forum GOD!!seanjo is a forum GOD!!seanjo is a forum GOD!!
Points: 1,738,299,116, Level: 100
Points: 1,738,299,116, Level: 100 Points: 1,738,299,116, Level: 100 Points: 1,738,299,116, Level: 100
Activity: 99%
Activity: 99% Activity: 99% Activity: 99%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BILLYJACKONCRACK View Post
If you have your router "Secured" as in you need a password to gain access to it' then you should be fine. If your router is "open" no password, Then anyone within distance of you may be able to ride your wireless signal...
Quote:
Originally Posted by lildan69us View Post
ralink is a brand of router could it be your neighbor has installed a new router and thats what your seeing...
generally a signal that is broadcasting in the mfg. name is not pass worded.
Quote:
Originally Posted by philomath View Post
You are just fine. You're sporting at least vista unless you are running the driver for the AP for XP Pro(Access Point)

The act of going to wpa causes your terminal to communicate with its AP differently(Vastly more secure)

What you are seeing is the actual wireless connections addy id. AS in "RalinkAPS".. Ralink (Name of wireless transmitter bios/os --->>APS - ( Access point). The part of your routers software patched to its OS that allows you to have wireless communication.

OH, You can also change this from its default, in the routers wireless "ssid".

Philo Tip, its a good idea to block its broadcast id, makes for a much more secure wireless connection as well.
Cheers everyone, I think philo has the answer, thank you for the responses.
__________________
The most elementary and valuable statement in science, the beginning of wisdom, is ‘I do not know’.
seanjo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2010, 04:56 PM   #6
BILLYJACKONCRACK
No Not That Kinda Crack
 
BILLYJACKONCRACK's Avatar
 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Phoenix Arizona US
Posts: 803
BILLYJACKONCRACK practically a forum legendBILLYJACKONCRACK practically a forum legendBILLYJACKONCRACK practically a forum legendBILLYJACKONCRACK practically a forum legendBILLYJACKONCRACK practically a forum legendBILLYJACKONCRACK practically a forum legendBILLYJACKONCRACK practically a forum legendBILLYJACKONCRACK practically a forum legendBILLYJACKONCRACK practically a forum legendBILLYJACKONCRACK practically a forum legendBILLYJACKONCRACK practically a forum legend
Points: 232,414, Level: 68
Points: 232,414, Level: 68 Points: 232,414, Level: 68 Points: 232,414, Level: 68
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Default

Cool,Cool...
__________________
Are you gonna bark all day, little doggy, or are you gonna bite?
BILLYJACKONCRACK is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:51 PM.